Monday, July 07, 2008

CAC President to Receive Honor

Nick Bockwinkel has been voted into the Class of 2009 for the George Tragos/Lou Thesz Professional Wrestling Hall of Fame, it was announced recently. The Hall of Fame is located in the Dan Gable International Wrestling Institute and Museum, in Waterloo, Iowa. The pro hall has its own separate wing where the honorees are represented by beautiful plaques in the Hall of Fame Court.

Next year's group will be the 11th class. The hall of fame honors athletes who (1) had a large impact on the professional sport, and (2) exhibited true wrestling ability as evidenced either by their amateur background or by the consensus of the hall of fame voting committee. The committee is comprised of all living hall of fame members and four wrestling historians.

Nick will be one of three living inductees and there will also be three deceased inductees, the others to be announced later. The date of next year's inductions has not been set yet. The museum was hit hard by the recent floods in Iowa and is closed for reconstruction. For more details, see the Dan Gable museum web site.